Lafferty Finishes 3rd at the Sandlapper National Enduro

Husaberg Factory rider Mike Lafferty put his Husaberg on the box at the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series with a 3rd place finish.
The eight-time National Enduro Champion was happy with his overall result, commenting, “I am excited to finish on the podium at the opening round. This is a much better start to my season than last year’s opener and I feel I have put myself in a good place to start the year.” 

Lafferty had a slow start to the day turning section times in the bottom five before really coming to life in the second half of the race. “I assumed the course was going to be much sandier than it was and I had set my bike up too aggressive in the beginning which hurt me in the first few sections. I was also a little nervous at the start of the race and rode tighter than I should have been,” remarked Lafferty. He continued, “After the third section we switched some settings on the bike which made it work perfect in the sand and I really felt comfortable. I loosened up immediately and it showed with an overall improvement in my lap times.” 

In the fourth section Lafferty was able to turn the second fastest time behind Brad Bakken. Lafferty went on to win the fifth section and then turned the third fastest time in the final section to bump him and his Husaberg to third overall. 

Lafferty’s Husaberg teammate, Nick Fahringer, also put in a decent ride finishing inside the top ten with a 7th place result. “I rode a smooth and consistent race throughout the whole day. Unfortunately, my speed was off slightly and that was where I lost a lot of time. I didn’t really struggle with anything particular I was just off the pace in a few sections. I know what I have to work on and I plan to focus on riding more enduro-style terrain and improving my sprint speed over the next few weeks,” commented Fahringer. 

The next AMA National Enduro event is scheduled for March 20, 2011 in Forest Hill, LA. 

Overall Results 
1)      Russell Bobbitt 
2)       Brad Bakken 
3)       Mike Lafferty – Husaberg 
4)       Cory Buttrick 
5)       Steward Baylor 
6)       Charlie Mullins 
7)       Nick Fahringer – Husaberg 
8)       Thad Duvall 
9)       Shane Hufford 
10)     Zach Klamfoth

Mike Lafferty's Husaberg 

Mike Lafferty 

Mike Lafferty 

Nick Fahringer 

Nick Fahringer
Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk