Alessi Earns 10th at Indianapolis Supercross

Alessi Earns 10th at Indianapolis Supercross
Red Bull/KTM Factory Team rider Mike Alessi earned 10th overall at the tenth round of the AMA Supercross Series at the Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, IN.
Alessi and his teammate Andrew Short were both placed in heat one. Off the start both riders were in the top ten. Short worked his way up to 5th place to earn a great gate pick in the main event while Alessi took the final transfer spot with a 9th place finish. 
The main event did not go so well for Short. He had a bad jump off the line and came around the first corner near the back of the back. A few turns later he suffered a mechanical problem and was unable to finish the race. His teammate, Alessi, carried on rounding the first lap in 15th position.  He moved up two positions on the next lap to take over 13th place. He continued to maintain his pace as the race progressed and by the halfway point had picked up two more positions. With only two laps to go he was able to capitalize on a mistake by another rider and picked up 10th overall for the night. 
"I am happy to finish inside the top ten tonight. This course was definitely challenging and I felt like everyone had a couple close calls tonight as we tried to pick up the speed on the course. I am excited about my consistency to finish inside the top ten but would like to move my focus toward the top five for the second half of this season," stated Alessi. 
Next Event: Jacksonville, FL - March 19, 2011 
Overall Results SX Class - 
1)     Ryan Villopoto 
2)     James Stewart 
3)     Chad Reed 
4)     Ryan Dungey 
5)     Justin Brayton 
6)     Trey Canard 
7)     Kevin Windham 
8)     Nick Wey 
9)     Cole Seely 
10)   Mike Alessi - KTM 
11)   David Millsaps 
12)   Matt Boni 
13)   Michael Byrne 
14)   Fabien Izoird 
15)   Matthew Goreke 
16)   Tye Simmonds - KTM 
17)   Bobby Kiniry 
18)   Chris Blose 
19)   Ivan Tedesco 
20)   Andrew Short - KTM 
Overall Point Standings SX Class - 
1)     Ryan Villopoto - 221 
2)     James Stewart - 195 
3)     Chad Reed - 192 
4)     Ryan Dungey - 183 
5)     Trey Canard - 169 
6)     Andrew Short - 129 
7)     Justin Brayton - 121 
8)     David Millsaps - 114 
9)     Brett Metcalfe - 107 
10)   Kevin Windham - 103 


Mike Alessi
Mike Alessi
Andrew Short
Andrew Short
A view from the stands

Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk