NHHA Round 8 - Caselli on Top at Cherry Creek National Hare & Hound

NHHA Round 8- Caselli on Top at Cherry Creek National Hare & Hound

Round 8 of the AMA/Kenda National Hare and Hound Championship Series brought us to Cherry Creek near the Little Sahara Sand Dunes area in Utah.  The 51st Annual Cherry Creek event, hosted by the Sugarloafers MC, presented wonderful weather conditions this time around.  Some rain during the week prior to race day made for great racing conditions.  With 250 race entrants and some 70 kids participating in the mini race, many racers would boast this at the finish as "the best race of the year". 

The battle with the top Pro riders was a great one.  Leading the mass bomb-run start which would quickly take the riders through a chain-link gate, would be the JCR/Honda of Kendall Norman.  Just behind Norman would be FMF/KTM's Kurt Caselli, who would make a pass on Norman shortly after the start.  The race would see the top three riders, with Monster Energy/Kawasaki's Destry Abbott up in the mix, trade spots back and forth for most of the first 65-mile loop.  In the pits for refueling would be leader Norman, followed by Caselli, then Abbott.  Purvines Racing's David Pearson would suffer a crash on loop one, leaving David in the 4th spot at the refueling.  Off Road Support's Jacob Argubright would also suffer a hard crash during the first loop, which would take him out of the race. 

Kurt Caselli Takes the Overall Win at Sugarloafers Round 8
Kurt Caselli takes the overall win at AMA/ Kenda/ NHHA Round 8.  Photo by Mark Kariya.

During the second loop of 35 miles, Caselli was able to take the lead after Norman had made a couple of minor mistakes.  Caselli would finish in the top spot at 1st place, with Norman in 2nd place, followed by Abbott in another solid 3rd place finish!   This would be Kurt Caselli's fifth win of this season, giving him a large point's cushion going into the break. 
Caselli, Norman, Abbott on the podium at Sugarloafers Round 8
Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli, & Kendall Norman on the Podium at Round 8. Photo by Mark Kariya.

In the Women's Pro Class, a surprise entry came from WORCS & ISDE racer Nicole Bradford, who would go on to finish 1st Woman overall after having an 8-minute lead in the pits.  Blais Racing Services KTM rider Shayla Fulfer would finish a solid 2nd place, followed by the KTM of Off-Road Support's Sarah Kritsch in 3rd place.  The series will resume in October with the final two rounds being held in Southern California.
 Nicole Bradford, Top Woman Rider at Sugarloafers National 
Nicole Bradford takes the Woman's Pro Class Win.  Photo by SG Photo & Design
Preston Hannifin would take his older brother's spot this year as the first local Utah rider in 10th Overall.  T.J Hannifin would have to sit out this round due to an injury.
Preston Hannifin, 1st Local Utah Rider
Preston Hannifin takes 10th overall and was the 1st local Utah rider. Photo bySG Photo & Design
Andy Lagzdins would take the ATV Pro Class win again and extend his championship points lead even further.
Prize give-aways from the series sponsors were abundant at this round.  With our newest sponsor, Leatt Brace, the holeshot winners of the "B", "C", and ATV rows will each receive a brand new Leatt neck brace, hydration system and chest protector (combined).  The winners are: #72T Tuffy Howard on the "B" row, #31P Jim Hamilton on the "C" row, and #32 on the ATV row (being verified).  Congrats everyone!  
Leatt Brace Logo

Kenda Kash was awarded at the finish line to the first four bike racers who were running Kenda Tires on their bikes.  Kenda Kash is awarded at each round - $50 each. 

Each race entrant will receive a $10 gift certificate from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC.  These will get mailed out to every racer who participated in the event at each round. 
Almost 100 contingency coupons from our series sponsors were handed out at sign-ups.  We want to thank all the sponsors for their awesome support of this series:  Kenda, FMF, Fasst Co, Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, Alpinestars, BRP, Bullet Proof Designs, Dirt Tricks, IMS, Fastway/PMB, Fluidyne, MadJack Racing/Amsoil, Rekluse, RB Components, RTT Stabilizers, TBT Suspension, 3 Bros KTM, Works Connection, and ZLT!

The Top 10 at Cherry Creek:

1. Kurt Caselli - KTM
2. Kendall Norman - Honda
3. Destry Abbott - Kawasaki
4. David Pearson - Honda
5. Robert Underwood - Kawasaki
6. Nick Burson - Husqvarna
7. Jeff Trulove - Kawasaki  
8. Lane Buchert - KTM  
9. Carl Maassberg - Honda 
10. Preston Hannifin - Kawasaki
Overall Point Standings for the Top 5:  

1. Kurt Caselli - 187
2. David Pearson - 159 
3. Destry Abbott - 146 
4. Jacob Argubright - 121 
5. Justin Morrow - 86 


Remember, all NHHA racers are eligible for HondaKawasaki, Husqvarna andKTM OEM contingency. Click on the Manufacturers bike you ride above for details or you can find all the details at:  www.NationalHareandHound.com



Preliminary Results (Final Results to be released shortly)

Be sure to get your Round 8 Event Photos at SG Photo & Design

Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk