USA Takes 7th MX of Nations Title

USA takes 7th Motocross of Nations title at Saint Jean d’Angely France

Team USA pulled out all the stops in the final race of the three-race series to finish 1-2 and steal the Chamberlain Trophy in their seventh consecutive win in the Motocross of Nations and deprive host country France of the victory. Team Australia finished in third place.


KTM congratulates all riders especially Red Bull KTM factory rider Marvin Musquin who returned from the USA at the end of the AMA MX outdoor season to ride for second placed Team France in the 65th edition of this annual MX face-off.


Marvin Musquin: “For sure it was a bit disappointing  (to finish second) but overall it was a good weekend for me. We went into the last race with a three-point lead but the US team is very strong. It was a good feeling to be back in France and to race at Saint Jean d’Angely and it was a great atmosphere with all the French fans so finishing second is also okay.”


Roczen and Herlings shine at MXoN

But while the big guns from the US, managed by the legendary Roger DeCoster, the team boss of Red Bull KTM in the USA, may have been victorious, KTM riders Ken Roczen and Jeffrey Herlings certainly raised eyebrows with spectacular rides in their respective races. Roczen, KTM’s recently crowned youngest ever MX2 World Champion had two spectacular rides on the KTM 250 SX-F finishing second in race one, even beating US rider Ryan Dungey to the checkered flag – and Dungey was on a 450 machine. Just 40 minutes later Roczen returned to the track to finish fourth, again against the Open class. In the absence of his Red Bull Teka KTM factory teammate Max Nagl, who couldn’t compete because of injury, Ken was successful in vaulting Team Germany into seventh place overall.


Ken Roczen: For sure it was a good weekend for me especially in the firs race. I got a good start and was around seventh and from there I was able to finish second. I even got close to Chad Reed (eventual winner). I also had a good start in the second race but then I twisted my knee and I broke my goggles and that brought me down a bit but I did have a good battle with Villopoto .”


Similarly, KTM’s 17-year-old Dutch rider Herlings had two great rides on the KTM 350 SX-F in the Open class registering a 2-9 result in races two and three to give his country ninth overall. Herlings, who finished second to Roczen in the MX2 World Championship is much better acquainted with his 250 SX-F but as the strongest rider in Team Netherlands assumed a leadership role and contested the open class on the KTM 350 SX-F.


Jeffrey Herlings: The first moto went really well and I led for a long time and finished second which was a great result. I didn’t get a good start in the second moto but I came back from about 20th to finish second. The riding was good and I felt good and I really think I cold have finished in the top five. I’m looking forward to next year already!”


Although it was a top day for the two young stars of the Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Team, luck did not ride with KTM’s Tony Cairoli of Italy, the newly crowned 2011 MX1 World champion. He went down hard in the opening race, broke handlebars with the impact and had to retire. After injuring his hand he was also unable to finish the second race.


Tony Cairoli: yesterday we were very happy with second in qualifying then today I had a good start in the first race but there was some soft mud in the first corner and I went down. I got back in the race and I was in 16th place and riding well and really pushing, maybe a bit too much and I crashed again and damaged the bike and hurt my hand.”


KTM riders in other prominent teams were Matt Moss, the 2011 Australian MX Lites champion for Team Australia in third place, Joel Roelants for Team Belgium in fifth place and Jose Antonio Butron for Team Spain which finished eighth overall. Around 35 nations competed in the MxoN.


MXoN competition format

The Motocross of Nations is made up of three separate races – MX2 and MX1, MX2 and Open and MX1 and Open. Each team fields three riders who each compete in two races. The team may discard their weakest result and the team with the lowest aggregate score is the winner.


KTM scoops annual awards

The Motocross of Nations weekend in France was also the occasion for the Annual MX Awards ceremony where KTM and its title winning factory riders picked up an impressive collection. Joining KTM’s MX1 and MX2 World Champions on the podium was ten-year-old Jorge Prado from Spain who won the FIM 65 cc Junior World Championship title on his KTM. Factory Team boss Stefan Everts collected the FIM Women’s Motocross World Championship award won by Steffi Laier who was unable to be present because she is currently in the USA. KTM also picked up the MX1 and MX2 manufacturer’s titles and the MX1 and MX2 team awards.


MXoN RACE 1 (MXI + MX2) Results

1, Chad Reed, Australia, Honda

2, Ken Roczen, Germany, KTM

3, Ryan Dungey, USA, Suzuki

4, Tommy Searle, UK, Kawasaki

5, Tyla Rattray, Republic of South Africa, Kawasaki

Other KTM

8, Marvin Musquin, France, KTM

10, Joel Roelants, Belgium, KTM

DNF, Tony Cairoli, Italy, KTM


MXoN Race 2 (MX2 + Open) Results

1, Gautier Paulin, France, Yamaha

2, Jeffrey Herlings, Netherlands, KTM

3, Ryan Villopoto, USA, Kawasaki

4, Ken Roczen, Germany, KTM

5, Kevin Strijbos, Belgium, Suzuki

Other KTM

11, Marvin Musquin, France, KTM

12, Joel Roelants, Belgium, KTM

16, Martin Michek, Czech Repulic, KTM


MXoN Race 3 (MX1 + Open) Results

1, Ryan Villopoto, USA, Kawasaki

2, Ryan Dungey, USA, Suzuki

3, Tyla Rattray, Republic of South Africa, Kawasaki

4, Tommy Searle, UK, Kawasaki

5, Davide Guarneri, Italy, Kawasaki

Other KTM

9, Jeffrey Herlings, Netherlands, KTM

DNF, Tony Cairoli, KTM


MXoN Final Results

1, USA 26 points:  Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki, Open; Ryan Dungey, Suzuki, MX1; Blake Baggett, Kawasaki, MX2

2, France 39 points: Gautier Paulin, Yamaha, Open; Marvin Musquin, KTM, MX2; Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, MX

3, Australia, 44 points: Chad Reed, Honda, MX1; Brett Metcalfe, Suzuki, Open; Matt Moss, KTM, MX2

4, Britain, 46 points: Tommy Searle, Kawasaki, MX1; Dean Wilson, Kawasaki, MX2; Brad Anderson, Honda, Open

5, Belgium 54 points: Kevin Strijbos, Suzuki, Open; Joel Roelants, KTM, MX2; Marvin van Daele, Honda, MX1

Other top teams with KTM riders

7, Germany 68 points: Ken Roczen, KTM MX2; Marcus Schiffer, Suzuki, Open; Daniel Siegl, KTM MX1

9, Netherlands 81 points: Jeffrey Herlings, KTM, Open, Donny Bastemeijer, Honda MX2; Herjan Brakke, Yamaha, MX1


Ken Roczen outstanding in Saint Jean d'Angely

Musquin on the podium with French team

Herlings delivers strong performance on the 350 SX-F

Pit Beirer and Heinz Kinigadner with 65 cc World Champion Jorge Garcia
Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk