New Berlin, NY – Factory FMF/KTM rider Kailub Russell earned 4th overall at the tenth round of the GNCC Series after an all-day battle for a podium position. His teammate, Charlie Mullins, earned 7th overall after bouncing back from a mechanical issue early in the race.

The KTM riders started the race around mid-pack but quickly moved into the top five. By the second lap both Russell and Mullins were sitting inside the top three. Russell was pressuring Paul Whibley for the lead on lap three when he slid out on the motocross track handing the position to Mullins. A few corners later, Mullins, in his first GNCC race back since injuring his elbow, was able to make the pass on Whibley and take over the lead. He quickly pulled away and gapped the field. At one point Mullins had a 20 second lead over the rest of the field before he encountered a brake issue. Mullins had to return to the pits to get his brakes repaired on the sixth lap which dropped him to 9th position. He fought hard through the remainder of the race and was able to gain back two positions to finish 7th.

Meanwhile, Russell was busy climbing back up from his crash. On the final lap, he caught and passed Nathan Kanney to move into 3rd place. With only a mile to go, Russell collided with a lapper on a large uphill climb and tipped over. Kanney was able to get around Russell, and with little time left, Russell had to settle for 4th position. Now ten rounds into the series, Russell still holds 2nd place in the point standings.

In the XC2 class, KTM rider Steward Baylor moved his KTM into podium position early in the race. On the fourth lap he encountered a flat tire and had to return to the pits for repair. He reentered the race in 10th position. With the remaining time he was able to move forward through the pack and climb to 4th overall. His 4th place earned him enough points to maintain the championship points lead heading to the next round.

In the Women’s class, Factory FMF/KTM rider and the 2012 GNCC Women’s Champion, Maria Forsberg, continued her dominating ways. Forsberg took her tenth win of the season to continue her perfect win streak, proving to the GNCC fans why she is a repeat champion.

Next Round: October 6-7 – St. Clairsville, OH 

Overall Results XC1 Class –

  1. Thad Duvall
  2. Paul Whibley
  3. Nate Kanney
  4. Kailub Russell – KTM
  5. Jordan Ashburn
  6. Chris Bach
  7. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  8. Jimmy Jarrett
  9. Rory Mead – KTM
  10. Takeshi Koikeda – KTM


Overall Point Standings XC1 Class –

  1. Paul Whibley – 253
  2. Kailub Russell – 240
  3. Rory Mead – 189
  4. Thad Duvall – 168
  5. Jordan Ashburn – 147


Overall Results GNCC XC2 Class –

  1. Andrew Delong
  2. Morgan Moss
  3. Nick Davis
  4. Steward Baylor – KTM
  5. Brad Bakken
  6. Jedediah Haines
  7. Michael McGinnis – KTM
  8. Jason Thomas – KTM
  9. AJ Stewart
  10. Cody Gragg


Overall Point Standings XC2 Class –

  1. Steward Baylor – 221
  2. Jason Thomas – 211
  3. Andrew Delong – 208
  4. Jedediah Haines – 168
  5. Jesse Robinson – 156


Overall Results GNCC Women’s Class –

  1. Maria Forsberg – KTM
  2. Sarah Baldwin – KTM
  3. Becca Sheets
  4. Mandi Mastin – KTM
  5. Leeann Bange
  6. Felicia Robichaud – KTM
  7. Samantha Steiner – KTM
  8. Aubrie Williams – KTM
  9. Nina Cobb – KTM
  10. Megan White – KTM


Overall Point Standings Women’s Class –

  1. Maria Forsberg – 180 *Champion
  2. Hannah Otto – 153
  3. Leeann Bange – 144
  4. Becca Sheets – 138
  5. Rachel Gutish – 125




Charlie Mullins

Maria Forsberg

Kailub Russell

Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk